our village (48)

So, I’m having a nightmare about this ticket in the woods, maybe that’s what’s going on, and I realize, like my inner voice says to me, “You’re just stoned, this isn’t actually a ticket out of town, it’s just some crazy fantasy-slash-nightmare, and you don’t really have to face that fear, not now; and not ever, not in any kind of nightmarish monster-encounter kind of way, cuz those are just stories, and you’re a rational albeit imaginative actor in the real world, an independent thinker, and you’ll reach down and see that that’s not actually a ticket, because it would be impossible to have a ticket to anywhere lying at your feet in the woods.” That’s what I’m telling myself, so I reach down to test whether or not it’s a ticket shining in the moonlight at my feet.

Leave a Reply

